.

This Year's Ballot Questions

A preview of the questions facing Malden voters.

Note: The following was submitted by Gary Christenson's Mayoral campaign. 

Question 1:

Right now, a ballot question proposed by voters (like the PAYT question in 2009) requires a very high super majority to pass.  

A “Yes” vote would reduce the size of the super majority, making it easier for citizen-sponsored questions to pass.

A “No” vote would maintain the high threshold in place for a ballot question to pass. 

 

Question 2:

Right now, with the exception of ward councilor, all vacancies in elective office are filled by appointment. This amendment, if adopted, would provide

1. A uniform and easily understood way of filling vacancies;

2. Vacancies would be filled by special election, unless a regular election was scheduled in the near future. Then, to minimize costs, the vacancy would be filled at the regular election.

Its main advantages are:

1.It is more democratic – it ensures that voters will choose their representatives directly;

2. It gives people a broader range of options in selecting their representatives. (The most qualified candidate may not have run in the last election because he/she was satisfied with the representation and did not anticipate a vacancy.)

3. It eliminates the ability to gain unfair advantage with inside knowledge.

A “Yes” vote would change the way that vacancies are filled.  A “No” vote would leave the present system for filling vacancies in place which is by appointment.

 

Question 3:

Since people can’t hold more than one city office at a time, it seems reasonable to know up-front what office a candidate really wants to hold. The state and many cities already have similar provisions.  

A "Yes" vote would prevent candidates from running for more than one office during an election cycle.

A "No" vote would continue to allow candidates to run for multiple offices during an election cycle.  

Julie M October 09, 2011 at 01:43 PM
To be clear, there was actually a warning (euphamism for threat) issued on boston.com a couple of months back by an active Fallon supporter, a self proclaimed active team member, that read: "YOU'D BETTER RUN FAR ON NOVEMBER 8 WHEN COUNCILOR AT LARGE FALLON BECOMES MAYOR FALLON!" Is this the group we want running our city? Without any hesitation, I say NO WAY, NO HOW. I don't have respect for this mentality, and I would hope that Malden would stand up and say the same with their votes.
Julie M October 09, 2011 at 02:07 PM
Robert, I was not referring only to your wife. But since you brought up children, they are an admirable passion! Children happen to be one of my passions as well! Passion does not equate to explosive behavior. Don't look for any kudos of honor for explosive behavior, even in the name of a worthy passion. With all due respect, please understand that I am not interested in having a conversation about or with the "doer of the deed". She behaved in this way publicly, at a public meeting, and more than once, so she has given me, and anyone else watching the meeting, the right to react to what we saw. Please do not try to take away my right to comment on this public behavior, on a public forum. It is widely known, because she has made it so, that your wife is very active on Fallon for Mayor team, and that's where it becomes an even greater concern for all of Malden, because she speaks (tantrums) on behalf of Fallon and her specific CAUSES, plural. I am not interested in, or intimidated by your invitation to personally meet with her. The fact is, I've seen and heard enough publicly to know that I don't want to connect personally!
Julie M October 09, 2011 at 02:42 PM
Annie, you assume so much about others that you can't possibly know. You have no idea if I've checked out all sides of any issue. ("Yes,I have, but you missed the point entirely..it was the recurring public explosions I took exception to) You have no idea where my teacher friends work. (actually, all five k-8 schools) Then you put your INCORRECT assumptions in writing! That takes a lot of nerve.
Julie M October 09, 2011 at 03:08 PM
You wrote: "Oh, that's right, we don't think the same so your response would be "let them eat turf"!" ...How about thinking before you write? How ridiculous! If we don't think the same, then my response would have to be "let them eat turf"? This is exactly what a lot of people take issue with, Annie. It's your way, or the highway. It's Fallon's way, or the highway.
Robert Sullivan October 09, 2011 at 04:24 PM
Julie As I thought, full of opinions but no backbone to sit down and to have a discussion. Actions speak louder than words. I would take my wife's actions to stand up for children over your empty words any day of the week. Do you have a last name or are you going to remain anonymous so you can continue to sling words? Which one of the individuals you support have step up for the children at this school? NOT ONE OF THEM!
Robert Sullivan October 09, 2011 at 04:27 PM
Julie One last comment for you. "Well behaved women RARELY make history." Have you heard that quote?
AnnieOMalden October 09, 2011 at 04:29 PM
So am I to understand then the Gary community would NOT be representing those who are so passionate about the children that they sometimes lose it at a meeting because the citizens are not allowed a voice at such meetings? We are forced to only communicate off camera and offline individually to each of those representing our issues? Deb is fighting for the right to have a 2 minute citizen openmike opportunity. Yes, I realize this has been on the books for a long while but no one has made it happen-yet. Can we count on Gary to vote FOR that? Obviously the population is extremely frustrated with the inaction of the council over the past 8-10 years in keeping our city safe, clean and liveable. Why all of a sudden we are to believe Gary can get the job done if he has been the "silent partner" to this Mayor and council? Can he actually get a backbone and stand up for the people he has ignored all these years? Seems he was in the group that told us there was nothing that could be done with the sober houses and drug treatment centers that have been allowed to flourish here. You never did answer me on that question about your group being ok with fewer police and ff's and more sober houses and treatment centers.
Julie M October 09, 2011 at 04:55 PM
Words are not empty just because they aren't screamed, Robert. There are many in Malden, within the school system as well as other places, who make worthy contributions to our school's children without making public displays, whether for personal or political attention, and do not require the public to give them credit for doing so. As far as making history.... are you now comparing your wife to women who have made historic contributions to society? Think again. As I said before, do not attempt to take away my freedom to express what I feel about repeated actions that many feel was an inapproriate display, and then point a finger calling me "chicken" because I have no desire to make a personal connection to your wife. I don't usually prefer to meet with people who may explode at any given moment, due to their "passions". Mind you, I'm not against passionate people or their passions.....but definitely not in favor of explosive tempers, especially in role model positions.
Robert Sullivan October 09, 2011 at 05:15 PM
Julii or Julie So if you are so sincere, why not have the backbone to face the issues with a last name? Your words are empty. Maybe you should talk to your teacher friends and have them tell you how much my wife gives back to her school community and colleagues namelessly and without her name attached it. She has the guts to do what you don't do or won't do. In my book that makes a hero.
Julie M October 09, 2011 at 05:18 PM
You've got quite a penchant for twisting words! Gary nor his team, has EVER issued warnings to anybody who has opposing viewpoints. This cannot be said of your group. Gary is inclusive of all citizens, not just a chosen few. That's your territory. Do you really think that your screaming, jumping out of her seat towards the council members friend is going to help the cause for gaining a voice at council meetings? Does her behavior work for or against the ultimate goal of open mike? Against it, because nobody is going to back up a vote for open mike after experiencing the loose canons. So, is there really a goal at all, or is there just a bunch of angry, out of control people over there?
Julie M October 09, 2011 at 05:23 PM
Hmmm...I don't know, Robert. Maybe you should check with Incorruptibility or Myrtle turtle on that, speaking of LAST names.
Robert Sullivan October 09, 2011 at 06:22 PM
Hey Julii -Julie I just read this on Boston.com from MVParent. It's Very Scary. The Mystic Valley parent propoponent wants to shoot all the students and teachers trapped in the public schools so they can be saved by the charter school. READ THIS FOLKS: MVParent wrote: Old Public Schools are like the old Iron Curtain..... the only difference is the state wall called a cap. Its breaking down but the soldiers are on the wall shooting the trapped.
Julie M October 09, 2011 at 06:41 PM
Hey robert....unfortunately, I have come to the conclusion that you are as nuts as the rest of your gang. Goodbye, robert.
Robert Sullivan October 09, 2011 at 08:43 PM
Spineless Julie. We aren't spineless. You HAVE NO FACTS only spineless opinions. Offer is still open to sit down and COMMUNICATE.
Julie M October 09, 2011 at 11:51 PM
What a tempting offer! Sitting down to "COMMUNICATE" with volatile and bullyish "communicators". I should bring a bodyguard as we have differing opinions, and that's clearly not allowed. What great examples for the objects of your passion.....the children!
AnnieOMalden October 10, 2011 at 01:20 AM
Julie: How infantile are you? Must you continue to berate people and make these false innuendos? Gary knows Kathy and I'm not sure he would approve of your dissing someone who so obviously does the hard work of protecting the neediest of our children. Sure we all would like to see Roosevelt park in the condition it should be in since they built the school. Part of the package was to rehab that park when they built the school. How many years has it been known to the council and admin this park was in a flood plain? This didn't just happen overnight. The admin and our councilors have turned a blind eye and ignored all these public buildings which have fallen into such disrepair the cost to fix them is only getting higher - remember McFadden Manor? How many dept. heads drive SUV's? How much money is paid out to recycled cronies to be on the "consultant" payroll none of us have any knowledge of? Gary's idea of bringing business into Malden is food trucks! Really? How about aiming a lot higher? You obviously have made up your mind so vote for 4 more years of the same. How bad is this city that a school teacher has to lose her cool at a council meeting because this council is more interested in backroom deals with a charter school than finding the money and fixing the park without any deals?
Robert Sullivan October 10, 2011 at 01:45 PM
Michael are you for real?? Comparing mass murderers and sexual predators to a opinion stated in council chambers. If this were the case our fore fathers would have all been in jail and we would be under the English crown. I am also glad you have the clarvoince to know what nestor was thinking at that time since he never said turfing around the goal posts. The park at Salemwood is not a dedicated soccer park its used for girls softball and little league. No goal post installed. Where is this turf going to go????? This is why I like this forum you cant shoot your mouth off and hide under a made up name.
Robert Sullivan October 10, 2011 at 05:23 PM
Michael Thats right I fought for that right so everyone can have an opinion. I have had friends of mine die to preserve this right. Thats why my full name is out there unlike Jullie/julli who shoots her mouth off and hides behind the cloak of invisability. To me that is a coward. If you have an opinion, state it and let it be known. To this I give you credit. Now you are putting words in my mouth that I want to take away peoples right to freedom of speech, you are trending on very thin ice.
Julie M October 10, 2011 at 06:34 PM
That wasn't the first threat coming from the source, and from the track record, it likely won't be the last. This is exactly my point. In my viewpoint this is gang like behavior, in the name of Fallon for mayor. Rampaging on the message boards and out in public are forms of violence. If you don't agree with their tactics or viewpoints, then you get insulted or bullied. (hasn't your wife informed you of the anti-bullying policy??) I'm not impressed with this brand of "passion", and I don't believe it is constructive to our community. Mr. Sullivan, you have called me spineless and threatened me with face to face meetings with someone who has proven to me by her behavior that I want no personal contact. That's threatening. I have every right to express myself respectfully without being insulted just because you do not agree with me. I do not believe that your professed service to our country gave you the right to disrespect me or my rights, or anyone else's. The members of my own family who have served, as well as colleagues and friends who have served, do not behave in the bullyish way you do, so it's not a service person's attitude, it's your own.
Robert Sullivan October 10, 2011 at 07:00 PM
Julie You can keep running your mouth, in fact it is getting quite old. Stay hidden so you can say what you want and dont have to back it up. Thats fine thats your choice, so be it a cowardly one. Where did you the right to tell me that I am bullying, Boy is that a stretch. First off the conversation was with Michael, In fact we talk quite a bit in person some thing you should try. I find him very likable although our views differ, thats what makes America great. You keep saying I threatened you when in fact it was a invite to a meeting. This just shows your twisted views. Mike has talked to me face to face several times, ask him if i ever threatened him. Julli the more you keep running your mouth the more everyone is tuning out. Just so you know my name is attached to this post. If i was hiding behind a fake name I could say what ever I wanted. Do use all a favor and come out of the closet and state you name.
Chris Caesar October 10, 2011 at 07:17 PM
Hey, guys? I was going to let this run it's course, but it's been several days and now the tone is getting kind of uncomfortable and insulting. I don't want people to feel threatened or just have this all devolve into name-calling. Why don't we call it a day and regroup for the next thread?
Julie M October 10, 2011 at 08:13 PM
That was my intention a few comments back, until I saw my name creeping up insultingly in further posts by Mr. Sullivan. I believe this is called "egging someone on", isn't it? I don't appreciate the threatening tone to some comments in his posts, as was noted, in fact, by Michael in one of his own posts. As far as I understand, Chris, I have every right to have expressed my opinion of a televised outburst at a council meeting by a city employee of another department, and to express my feeling that outbursts like this one only serve to defeat the purpose of gaining open mike at council meetings. In return, I have been barraged with insults of spinelessness. My name is Julie, and I prefer to leave it at that. That is my perogative, as I understand, as well. Maybe if there were fewer openly explosive people on these boards, I might feel more comfortable using my last name. As in typical bullying situations, the bullier feels entitled to continue his bullying, and the bullied is threatened. Wondering why the editor didn't step in sooner, in fact.
Robert Sullivan October 10, 2011 at 08:34 PM
Julie How high is your soap box? No one threatened you, and no one egged you on. I am just making the statement that a real person would stand behind their name and not post with out being known. Thats a coward, and a fact. If you were threatened in any way Chris would of flagged the post. I am also glad you can speak for michael, hes a big boy and can handle him self, as I stated before and I'll do it again. Michael and I speak to each other often and I would appreciate you leaving him out of your comments to me. I feel Chris is on the right path with pulling this post thread its going no where.
Chris Caesar October 10, 2011 at 08:43 PM
Julie, you certainly do have the right to make such a remark, and, alternatively, people who disagree with you also have the right to post and criticize your reasoning. If you felt I should've intervened sooner - due to feeling threatened, harassed, whatever - you could always reach me directly at Chris.Caesar@patch.com and I'd hear you out. Otherwise, I tend toward having a hands-off approach to regulating comments, at least until they reach a certain threshold of nastiness. As the tone got a little dicey and personal, I thought it best to stop. I hope you understand. Robert, I appreciate you using your real name, but the personal attacks should probably be kept to a minimum, in the future. I understand this is kind of personal for you, but, people can have reasonable disagreements about this situation, and I think we ought to respect that. For everyone: I'll just leave this here, as it serves to temper my feelings and put things in perspective during heated message board arguments of my own: http://imgs.xkcd.com/comics/duty_calls.png And, as always, thanks for commenting. I know you guys care a lot, and that this comes from passion, but I just want to make sure we don't overdo it. Thanks, everyone.
Julie M October 10, 2011 at 08:58 PM
Thanks, Chris. If I had seen your cartoon before posting this last time, I might have refrained from doing so, with a chuckle. Thanks for the comic relief! I'll try to keep it in mind for future reference!
Chris Caesar October 10, 2011 at 09:06 PM
Sorry guys, I'm going to delete both of those last minute swipes. If you can't play nice, I will turn this Patch around soooo fast...
Robert Sullivan October 10, 2011 at 09:16 PM
Thanks chris, It was due along time ago. I think you should revist the true name policy. That would fix alot of problems. Thanks again. You know who.
Chris Caesar October 10, 2011 at 09:17 PM
I appreciate it, guys. I am definitely trying to formulate the most judicious balance between having robust discussions and not having it devolve into name-calling. We should have more information about this tomorrow morning (I believe).
Julie M October 10, 2011 at 09:26 PM
I believe that not devolving into name-calling would fix an even greater problem.
Chris Caesar October 10, 2011 at 09:56 PM
Here's a new discussion on which, as a new resident of Malden, I'd appreciate some impassioned feedback: http://malden.patch.com/articles/poll-who-has-the-best-pizza-in-malden

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something